How to pray the Rosary

1. Make the sign of the Cross.

2. Say the Apostles’ Creed.

3. Say the Our Father.

4. Say three Hail Marys.

5. Say the Glory Be to the Father.

6. Announce the first mystery.

7. Say the Our Father.

8. Say 10 Hail Marys.

9. Say the Glory Be to the Father.

10. Say the Fatima Prayer.

11. Go back to Step (6) for the second, third, fourth, and fifth mysteries,
until all decades have been said.

12. Say the Hail, Holy Queen.

Concluding prayer: Let us pray. O God, whose only begotten Son, by his life, death, and resurrection, has purchased for us the rewards of eternal life, grant, we beseech thee, that meditating upon these mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, we may imitate what they contain and obtain what they promise, through the same Christ Our Lord. Amen.

Note: The purpose of the Rosary is to remember certain events in the history of our salvation and thank and praise God for them. There are 20 mysteries in today’s Rosary, divided into the five Joyful Mysteries, the five Sorrowful Mysteries, the five Glorious Mysteries, and the five Luminous Mysteries. It is common to pick one set of five each time you say the Rosary.

Although there are no “rules” as to which set of mysteries should be said on which days, the Christmas season lends itself to the Joyful Mysteries, and the Lenten season lends itself to the Sorrowful Mysteries.

Leave a Reply